Religion vs Karma


…Do I believe we’re part of something greater? Yes, life itself.

What do I believe happens when we die? I believe our form changes but our essential connection to life remains.

Who we are is what this life is about. When that changes, and we no longer live, in this sense, so does the place where our essential spirit resides. The way our ashes return to the earth so too our spirit returns to creation itself. I know this because the people to whom I was closest when living, I still feel once they have died. Not them, as I knew them when they lived, but as I felt them when they lived.

Energy, molecules and matter, which includes us, interact and produce what we perceive as our reality. Matter matters. All that we do matters. A blade of grass or an elephant, its all consciousness and vibrates and moves against itself. It’s cyclical and never-ending. It is magical. Like the way there is a life force in all things.

I’m unashamed to admit that I talk and sing to the earth and the animals and plants. It’s not the words or sounds exactly that translate, but the energetic vibration that moves between. Perhaps it explains why I smile when I hear the sound of Traditional spoken languages that resonate with earth, sea, animals and the heavens. Language born of a place, a first language, not an imposed one.

People have every possible interpretation of the mystery of our spiritual consciousness. I believe it is both highly individual and inseparable from others around us. I believe it is best to be kind and know our place matters only in what it means to us and how we share it with one another. That is our lesson to learn I discern.

Religion is silly business. As Ghandi said, ‘God has no religion’. Still, how can one not see divinity in a simple seashell? Life is perfect in it’s existence. We each experience existence differently. We have many ways of knowing and understanding the connection that guides us. Mine is the sea. I’ve heard it speak to me since I was a child. Some say a person is born with saltwater in their veins. I know that the natural world draws us, sings and brings us and teaches us lessons unknowable elsewhere.

Karma is a concept I was named for, Karma(n). The western definition of ‘Karma’ is sometimes limited to a ‘what comes around goes around’ definition. I believe it is much bigger than that. It does directly relate to our actions and intent. It defines what we put into the world around us, what vibration we create.

When people ask me why I choose to live and work within a First Peoples context and cosmology, I say, I like a good story. The oldest stories are often the best. I like to share understanding and laughter and experience a genuine respect for our world with others. I enjoy seeing opportunities that never existed take shape on the horizon and bring beautiful surprises. And I’ve always enjoyed a good adventure.

Karman Lippitt sealife

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.